Databases

ProQuest Databases

Visit the ProQuest website to access all 3 databases.

Username: elakems

Password: chulavista

Are you looking for resources to use for a school project?  Do you need multiple types of sources, such as newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias and primary sources?  You can find everything in one place at ProQuest.  Students have school and home access to this database, so you can do research from your classroom or your home.  ProQuest is divided into 3 different databases:

Culture Grams:

Concise, reliable, and up-to-date country reports delivering the world to you.  CultureGrams helps you and your students discover the world with concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations — from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.  Local experts document the unique, intimate details of each country’s customs, traditions and daily life.  And whether it’s Iraq, Canada, or Kenya, each CultureGram offers an equality of coverage detailing 25 different aspects of the country and its culture.

SIRS:

SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) provides a portal to relevant, credible information carefully hand-selected by our staff.  When students use SIRS SKS, they receive best-of content designed to support student research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects.  SIRS is a great database to use when researching pro/con topics.

E-Library:

eLibrary is the perfect resource for delivering full-text and multimedia reference essentials. The easy-to-use interface makes research easy.  Students find the answers they need from more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts–plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites, and top-quality multimedia (audio/video) files.

 

How to use ProQuest Database Bookcarts

For more information visit the library!

 

World Book Online

For all your reference needs,World Book Online is now available.  It’s so easy!

World Book

Go to the World Book @ www.worldbookonline.com

Log-in ID: sweet

Password: water

 

Ebsco Host

Click on the icon below to access our subscription to Ebsco databases.

Ebsco

Username: elakems

Password: chulavista

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

ELM now has access to over 100 Gale e-reference books.  The password to access them is : eastlake. The reference e-books include volumes on Art, Biography, History, Literature, Science and many more.  If you need to do a project, these reference e-books are a great place to start.

 

Accessmylibrary

Accessmylibrary is a great free app you can download that will give you access to Gale databases that the Chula Vista Public library subscribes to for free.  Gale is a well known publisher that has excellent online databases available at no cost to our students through this app!

Another great thing about this app is that you do not need to enter library card information to access it.  As long as you are within a 10 mile radius of a public library that subscribes to Gale databases, you can use their resources for free.

As soon as you download the free app, you choose your library location from a map, and you’re in!  Some of the Gale databases provided are: Biography in Context, InfoTrac Junior Edition, Opposing viewpoints, Books and Authors, and many more.  These are great resources for our students, and very easy to access.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *